A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ATLAS

Mon, 8 Jan '24
Book of maps
Wed, 15 Nov '23
North Africa's ___ Mountains
Mon, 2 Oct '23
Collection of maps
Mon, 3 Jul '23
What can show you the world?
Fri, 2 Jun '23
Traveler's aid
Fri, 28 Apr '23
Provider of a broad world view
Fri, 25 Nov '22
Book of legends
Mon, 7 Nov '22
World record?
Sat, 15 Oct '22
Father of Calypso
Fri, 23 Sep '22
Book that becomes a synonym for "Finally!" when "t" is added to the end
Mon, 19 Sep '22
Reference for a geography buff
Sun, 11 Sep '22
Eponym for one of the earth's five oceans
Fri, 27 May '22
World record holder?
Fri, 11 Mar '22
World-weary sort?
Sat, 4 Dec '21
Book with scales
Tue, 5 Oct '21
Book that comes with a set of keys
Tue, 7 Sep '21
Greek god after whom an ocean is named
Mon, 6 Sep '21
Book of maps
Fri, 18 Jun '21
Book often stored horizontally
Sun, 23 May '21
Cartographic collection
Sat, 20 Mar '21
He's got a lot on his shoulders
Thu, 11 Feb '21
Rockefeller Center statue
Sat, 6 Feb '21
Charles ___, how Angelo Siciliano is better known
Wed, 13 Jan '21
Work of cartography