A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

PELE

Fri, 29 Mar '24
Christ the Redeemer wore a facsimile of his jersey in 2023
Tue, 16 Jan '24
One-named "King of Football"
Fri, 5 Jan '24
Name added to a Brazilian dictionary in 2023 as an adjective meaning "incomparable"
Sat, 30 Dec '23
Soccer legend who played for both sides in his final match in 1977
Sun, 3 Dec '23
Who said "Football is not about one or two or three star players"
Mon, 27 Nov '23
One-named Brazilian soccer icon
Thu, 16 Mar '23
Hawaiian goddess of volcanoes and fire
Tue, 24 May '22
Mononymous "King of Football"
Thu, 31 Mar '22
Youngest player to score in the FIFA World Cup (age 17)
Sun, 12 Dec '21
New York Cosmos star of the '70s
Tue, 5 Oct '21
Only player on more than two winning World Cup teams