A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ALTO

Mon, 18 Oct '21
Kind of sax
Tue, 5 Oct '21
Cher or Sade, voicewise
Mon, 13 Sep '21
Intermediate choir voice
Tue, 24 Aug '21
Amy Winehouse, vocally
Wed, 4 Aug '21
Lead-in to sax
Thu, 15 Jul '21
Kind of saxophone
Fri, 2 Jul '21
Range for a viola
Wed, 28 Apr '21
Chaka Khan, vocally
Sun, 25 Apr '21
Countertenor
Sun, 4 Apr '21
Tina Turner, voicewise
Mon, 29 Mar '21
Voice below mezzo-soprano
Fri, 5 Feb '21
Spanish opposite of bajo