A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

RID

Tue, 10 May '22
Clear (of)
Thu, 28 Apr '22
Purge
Sat, 9 Apr '22
Free
Mon, 20 Dec '21
Relieved (of)
Fri, 26 Nov '21
Clear
Fri, 14 May '21
Clear
Thu, 29 Apr '21
Free from, with "of"
Fri, 23 Apr '21
Relieve (of)
Wed, 24 Mar '21
Cleansed (of)
Wed, 17 Mar '21
Cleared (of)
Fri, 5 Mar '21
"God send the companion a better prince! I cannot ___ my hands of him": "Henry IV, Part II"
Sun, 28 Feb '21
Divest
Thu, 21 Jan '21
Purge (of)