A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

IAN

Wed, 15 Jun '22
Actor McShane
Tue, 24 May '22
McKellen or McEwan
Sun, 22 May '22
Janis ___, main role in "Mean Girls"
Tue, 19 Apr '22
___ Fleming, British naval intelligence officer-turned-writer
Sun, 27 Mar '22
Writer Fleming
Mon, 7 Mar '22
McKellen who played Gandalf
Wed, 6 Oct '21
John of Scots
Wed, 1 Sep '21
McKellen who played Gandalf
Sat, 14 Aug '21
Janis with the 1975 hit "At Seventeen"
Tue, 13 Apr '21
Fleming who created James Bond
Tue, 16 Mar '21
English novelist McEwan
Sun, 7 Mar '21
Actor Somerhalder
Wed, 17 Feb '21
Actor McKellen
Sat, 16 Jan '21
Man's name that's also a suffix