A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ADIEU

Wed, 24 Apr '24
"To god," in French
Wed, 6 Mar '24
Seine send-off
Fri, 18 Aug '23
Parting of the Seine?
Wed, 15 Mar '23
"Toodles," but more formally
Mon, 28 Nov '22
French farewell
Tue, 8 Nov '22
"I bid you ___"
Wed, 31 Aug '22
Bye at the French Open?
Sun, 14 Aug '22
Formal farewell
Thu, 11 Aug '22
Final bid?
Mon, 7 Feb '22
French farewell
Mon, 17 May '21
Fancy goodbye
Fri, 19 Mar '21
"Fare thee well!"
Mon, 8 Mar '21
Farewell
Sat, 30 Jan '21
Parting word