A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

NOD

Sat, 24 Dec '22
OK
Tue, 25 Oct '22
Doze (off)
Tue, 11 Oct '22
Minimal gesture of acknowledgment
Thu, 6 Oct '22
Signal to proceed
Tue, 26 Jul '22
Silent approval
Sun, 29 May '22
Get the ___
Wed, 23 Mar '22
Wordlessly agree
Sat, 5 Mar '22
Green light
Sun, 30 Jan '22
Give the ___
Thu, 6 Jan '22
Signal agreement
Wed, 6 Oct '21
Drop (off)
Mon, 12 Jul '21
Give silent approval
Sun, 11 Apr '21
Drift off to sleep
Sun, 7 Mar '21
Drop off
Fri, 5 Mar '21
"Hey there" equivalent
Sun, 7 Feb '21
Signal approval