A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ATE

Mon, 6 May '24
Had food
Wed, 17 Apr '24
Had a meal
Wed, 3 Apr '24
Cleared the dishes?
Mon, 18 Mar '24
Took in some takeout?
Fri, 8 Mar '24
Suffix with liquid
Wed, 17 Jan '24
Eroded, with "away"
Sat, 23 Dec '23
___ and ran
Mon, 11 Dec '23
Consumed
Sat, 2 Dec '23
Took something with a grain of salt, maybe
Sun, 29 Oct '23
Did a great job, in Gen Z lingo
Sun, 22 Oct '23
Past-tense verb that sounds like a number
Tue, 17 Oct '23
Cleared one's plate, say
Sun, 8 Oct '23
Snacked on
Tue, 22 Aug '23
Gobbled
Sun, 30 Jul '23
Loved, loved, loved, with "up"
Wed, 7 Jun '23
Inhaled, so to speak
Mon, 8 May '23
Devoured
Fri, 21 Apr '23
Took in
Wed, 5 Apr '23
Noshed
Fri, 24 Mar '23
Had
Sun, 5 Mar '23
Made a fast stop?
Sat, 18 Feb '23
Had a date, maybe
Sat, 11 Feb '23
Greatly enjoyed, with "up"
Sat, 4 Feb '23
Didn't go fast?
Mon, 9 Jan '23
Noshed
Tue, 3 Jan '23
Supped
Mon, 2 Jan '23
"Why was 6 afraid of 7? Because 7 ___ 9!"
Wed, 7 Dec '22
Scarfed down
Thu, 10 Nov '22
Apt letters missing from assimil_ _ _d
Mon, 7 Nov '22
Had breakfast, say
Mon, 10 Oct '22
Broke a fast
Tue, 27 Sep '22
Wolfed down
Sat, 10 Sep '22
Absolutely loved, with "up"
Mon, 5 Sep '22
Enjoyed a smorgasbord, say
Wed, 10 Aug '22
Had for lunch
Thu, 4 Aug '22
Put the food away
Sun, 31 Jul '22
Put away
Mon, 11 Jul '22
Brunched, say
Sun, 10 Jul '22
Had a hero, say
Mon, 4 Jul '22
Broke a fast
Thu, 16 Jun '22
Downed
Fri, 27 May '22
Put away
Tue, 3 May '22
Gobbled up
Mon, 2 May '22
Feasted
Fri, 15 Apr '22
Absorbed
Fri, 25 Mar '22
Cleared one's cookies?
Thu, 10 Mar '22
Dug in
Sun, 6 Feb '22
"Thanks, but I already ___"
Fri, 28 Jan '22
Had
Thu, 27 Jan '22
Grazed
Wed, 19 Jan '22
Did some crunches at lunch?
Sun, 2 Jan '22
Homophone of the sum of this clue number's digits
Sun, 5 Dec '21
What seven did to nine, in a joke
Thu, 2 Dec '21
Consumed
Sat, 23 Oct '21
___ and ran
Wed, 6 Oct '21
Consumed
Fri, 1 Oct '21
Put away
Sat, 28 Aug '21
Put away
Thu, 26 Aug '21
Absorbed, as a loss
Sun, 8 Aug '21
Noshed on
Thu, 8 Jul '21
Eroded, with "away"
Tue, 22 Jun '21
Supped
Sun, 20 Jun '21
Put away some groceries?
Tue, 1 Jun '21
Broke bread
Wed, 17 Mar '21
Consumed
Tue, 16 Mar '21
Broke a fast
Mon, 1 Mar '21
Partook of a meal
Tue, 9 Feb '21
Ingested