A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ELK

Tue, 29 Nov '22
Forest ranger?
Wed, 16 Nov '22
Big game
Sun, 8 May '22
Yellowstone sight
Thu, 10 Feb '22
Game measured by its number of points
Wed, 12 Jan '22
Animal facing a moose on Michigan's flag
Mon, 10 Jan '22
Antlered animal
Tue, 18 May '21
Cousin of a caribou
Sun, 9 May '21
Wyoming's National ___ Refuge
Wed, 6 Jan '21
Game with antlers
Tue, 29 Dec '20
Rocky Mountain National Park sighting