A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

VIE

Sun, 9 Jun '24
Go toe-to-toe
Tue, 16 Apr '24
Compete (for)
Mon, 22 Jan '24
Compete (for)
Sun, 22 Oct '23
Jockey (for)
Mon, 12 Jun '23
Compete (for)
Sat, 28 May '22
Focus of une biographie
Sun, 1 May '22
Contest
Thu, 28 Apr '22
Struggle
Tue, 1 Feb '22
Fight (for)
Sun, 7 Nov '21
Contest
Tue, 2 Nov '21
Compete (for)
Mon, 24 May '21
Contend
Tue, 16 Mar '21
Fight (for)