A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

RATE

Fri, 1 Jul '22
___ My Professors
Tue, 28 Jun '22
Tempo
Fri, 24 Jun '22
Mortgage offering
Fri, 3 Jun '22
Clip
Fri, 24 Dec '21
Calculus calculation
Sat, 6 Nov '21
Grade
Sat, 9 Oct '21
Velocity, e.g.
Sat, 10 Jul '21
Play a critical role?
Wed, 23 Jun '21
Give feedback on Yelp, maybe
Fri, 14 May '21
Grade
Fri, 26 Mar '21
Going amount