A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

REED

Tue, 13 Feb '24
Part of an oboe
Sun, 4 Feb '24
Bog plant
Fri, 19 Jan '24
Vibrating part of some instruments
Fri, 24 Nov '23
Easily swayed person, metaphorically
Tue, 6 Jun '23
What a bassoon has that a bass doesn't
Fri, 19 May '23
Stalk, maybe
Wed, 10 May '23
Cattail, e.g.
Sat, 4 Feb '23
One of a set in an accordion
Fri, 26 Aug '22
Bulrush, e.g.
Fri, 22 Jul '22
Saxophone piece
Tue, 3 May '22
___ Richards a.k.a. Mr. Fantastic
Fri, 18 Mar '22
Oregon college whose mascot is a griffin
Sat, 5 Feb '22
Kind of grass
Thu, 16 Dec '21
Liberal arts college in Portland, Ore.
Wed, 9 Jun '21
Slender plant
Sun, 6 Jun '21
Bit of thatching
Sat, 22 May '21
Papyrus, e.g.
Thu, 29 Apr '21
Harmonica piece
Sat, 30 Jan '21
Certain mouthpiece attachment
Mon, 11 Jan '21
Rocker Lou