A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

RUN

Thu, 20 Jun '24
Homecoming, of a sort?
Mon, 19 Feb '24
Compete for a congressional seat
Sun, 17 Dec '23
Air ... or chair
Sun, 9 Apr '23
It's worth one point in cricket
Sat, 11 Feb '23
With 55-Down, gamble
Tue, 7 Feb '23
Cry in an emergency
Fri, 6 Jan '23
"Get out of here!"
Tue, 27 Sep '22
Seek office
Wed, 31 Aug '22
Horror film cry
Wed, 3 Aug '22
Word with end or earned
Thu, 10 Jun '21
Be a political candidate
Sun, 2 May '21
Worry for a Great Depression bank
Wed, 7 Apr '21
Sprint ... or see print
Sun, 14 Mar '21
Direct