A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

OMEN

Thu, 24 Nov '22
A rooster crowing before midnight, it was once believed
Mon, 19 Sep '22
Spine-tingling sign of things to come
Wed, 24 Aug '22
Eclipse, to some
Sun, 7 Aug '22
Warning sign
Thu, 4 Aug '22
Something interpreted from a bird's behavior, in the ancient Greek practice of ornithomancy
Thu, 28 Jul '22
Sign
Fri, 3 Jun '22
Dark clouds, e.g.
Sun, 8 May '22
Portent
Mon, 14 Feb '22
Harbinger
Thu, 6 Jan '22
A rainbow is said to be a good one
Sat, 9 Oct '21
The Grim, in the Harry Potter books
Sun, 26 Sep '21
One might be good or evil
Sun, 4 Jul '21
Auspice
Tue, 16 Feb '21
Gathering clouds, to some