A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ACES

Sat, 24 Sep '22
Rare golf shots
Mon, 19 Sep '22
Prized blackjack cards
Sat, 10 Sep '22
Primo
Fri, 5 Aug '22
Top-notch
Wed, 6 Jul '22
Best four-of-a-kind
Thu, 19 May '22
Super-duper
Tue, 3 May '22
Terrific, in slang
Fri, 11 Jun '21
Las Vegas W.N.B.A. team
Thu, 20 May '21
Super-duper
Sun, 14 Mar '21
Super-duper
Tue, 9 Mar '21
"Pocket rockets," in poker
Sun, 10 Jan '21
Pocket rockets, in poker