A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

NTH

Fri, 5 Nov '21
___ power
Sun, 31 Oct '21
Maximum degree
Sat, 9 Oct '21
Advanced degree
Sun, 12 Sep '21
High degree
Thu, 26 Aug '21
Indefinite ordinal
Sun, 15 Aug '21
Advanced math degree?
Fri, 18 Jun '21
High degree
Sat, 8 May '21
Like the last in a line
Sat, 20 Mar '21
Higher power?
Tue, 2 Mar '21
Last in a series
Tue, 23 Feb '21
Last in a mathematical series
Tue, 2 Feb '21
To the ___ degree