A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

BAE

Sun, 8 May '22
Sweetie
Mon, 2 May '22
Term of endearment
Thu, 14 Apr '22
Sweetheart
Thu, 17 Feb '22
Sweetheart, in modern lingo
Sun, 23 Jan '22
Sweetie
Mon, 29 Nov '21
Modern love?
Sun, 17 Oct '21
Main squeeze, in modern lingo
Wed, 16 Jun '21
Hon
Tue, 1 Jun '21
Modern term of endearment
Fri, 7 May '21
Sweetie
Mon, 12 Apr '21
Modern pet name